#QuickTips with Jacob

Helping you make the most of your iPhone, iPad and Mac

App Store #QuickTip

How to Cancel App Subscriptions (Save Money on iPhone)

30th May 2022

Jacob Woolcock

Over time it’s easy to build up multiple subscriptions on your iPhone, each one charging you monthly or annually to use an app or service. Whilst most of these will probably be things you’ve explicitly want, it may be that you’ve also got some other subscriptions that have built up over time that you don’t need anymore. Here’s how to delete or edit them.

Play Video

All of my content is completely free to watch. However, to create these videos I require a steady stream of caffeine!

If you've found this #QuickTip helpful then please do consider buying me a coffee. Thank you.

Video Transcript

Over time Subscriptions can build up on your iPhone, and you may end up paying for apps you didn’t even realise you still had.

Here’s how you can double check and maybe save some money!

So to view my Subscriptions I’m going to go into Settings, and then tap my Apple ID at the top of the screen.

From here we’re simply going to choose the Subscriptions option and give it a moment to load.

On here you then get a list of all of your current Subscriptions, and underneath there are your expired ones as well.

And you’ll also see dates when that next payment is due to be taken from your account.

If I tap onto one of these Subscriptions, for example my Fantastical one with Cardhop, if I go into here I can change the frequency of payment.

It might work out cheaper to pay annually rather than monthly for example.

But of course the biggest way to save money is by cancelling Subscriptions.

So you might straight away notice a couple that you forgot you had – or ones that are due for renewal soon that you don’t want to renew.

For me if I go on to Netflix, I can then cancel my Subscription straight away from here.

There’s no annoying phone calls or long-winded web form to fill out on iPhone, all you need to do is press Cancel Subscription.

And that’s it, it will not be charged anymore.

And the great thing is you can carry on using that app until the Subscription date was originally due.

That means you can use it for the rest of the month (or the rest of the year if you’ve paid annually).

Go on have a quick check of your Subscriptions now and see if you can save some money.

If you did let me know in the comments down below!

Comments

Leave a Reply