With iOS 16 it’s now possible to edit an iMessage after you send it – up to five times in fact! You can correct typos, punctuation or even change the message entirely, it’s up to you. This is a great feature to have in Messages and, if you ask me, it’s been a long time coming! There are some things to be aware of with it though, and this video will talk you through both how to use it and also what quirks there are.
All of my content is completely free to watch. However, to create these videos I require a steady stream of caffeine!
If you've found this #QuickTip helpful then please do consider buying me a coffee. Thank you.
You can now edit your iMessages after you’ve sent them.
Here’s a quick guide to how it works and some of the restrictions that you might run into.
So when you send an iMessage to someone it can quite often happen that you make a typo, or perhaps don’t quite say what you mean.
Well now in iOS 16 you can edit that message after you’ve sent it, as long as you do so within 15 minutes.
To edit a message all you have to do is tap and hold the blue bubble and then press Edit.
This brings up a new inline editor where you can make changes to your message and press the blue button to send it again.
Now you can change a message up to five times, at that point you can’t do it anymore.
But do be aware of a couple of things:
Firstly, when you edit a message both the recipient and the sender can look back at the edit history.
That means if I tap on the blue Edited label here you’ll see the previous messages that I’ve sent.
Also, if you’re messaging someone who isn’t on iOS 16 yet they’ll get a different screen entirely.
In fact it will look just like this.
They won’t get *just* the most recent message, they’ll get all the edits that you’ve sent with a little message before them.
Of course you could decide to Undo the send completely (effectively deleting that message) by tapping and holding it and then pressing Undo Send.
Then the recipient will be notified that you’ve deleted a message that they won’t see the edit history, so if you made an embarrassing typo you could undo the send and then send a new message instead.
Again though, this only works on iOS 16 and later.